top of page

Frog facts by Thia

Frogs are one of the most diverse vertebrates on the planet. There are over 4800 species of frog, accounting for 85% of amphibians! They live everywhere from the tropics to subarctic areas. 

Various species live in trees, land, water and even underground. Most frogs lay their eggs in water, though some lay them on land. When the eggs hatch the larvae are called tadpoles. A tadpole has a tail and internal gills. Overtime they will their tail will shrink and they will grow legs and become an adult frog. 

Frogs have very diverse color patterns as well. Some are dark brown, gray or green to help provide camouflage. Others are bright red, yellow or even black. 

Different species have different diets – some are herbivores, some eat plankton and others are omnivorous. 

Myths and Stories

When Shakespeare's witches call for a bit of toe of frog, they were actually referring to buttercup petals, which are toxic and can cause skin inflammation. 

Native American

Different tribes have different interpretations of Frog. For example, the Anishinabe believe frogs represent transformation and growth. In the Pacific Northwest they are representative of Spring and renewal. While some tribes in Southern California say that Frog killed their Creator God with evil magic. Some tribes in South America associate the golden frog with fertility, wealth and a happy afterlife.


Hekt was a goddess with the head of a frog. She symbolized fertility and birth.


Along the banks of the Nile, frogs are an indicator of the quality of the growing year. This relates to the degree of flooding from the Nile. When the river would flood there would be thousands of frogs. The more frogs, the richer the soil and the stronger the crops. 


In China, the frog represents Yin or female energy. In Feng Shui you could put a picture of a frog in the east window to invite child birth and a happy family life. 

In Japan, frogs are good luck, especially for travelers. 

Other cultures

The Maori people believe that if you kill a frog it can bring heavy rains and flooding. However, some African tribes believe that killing a frog means you will have a draught. 

Perhaps the best known story about frogs in the fairy tale where the princess kissed the frog and he turned into a prince! This tells us to look beneath the surface to see the true nature of situations. 


The main correspondences for Frog are cleansing, abundance, and transformation. 

Cleansing The frog in always going in and out of the water. This cleansing represents releasing the old and allowing the transformation of new energies to evolve. The cleansing is generally associated with spiritual cleansing in particular. The cleansing indicates a catalyst for change, washing away any blockages for abundance and prosperity. 

Abundance The fact that frogs lay huge quantities of eggs, symbolizing fertility and abundance. The similarity of the tadpole and the sperm also ties the frog to fertility. 

Transformation The frog’s evolution from egg to tadpole to adult frog symbolize spiritual evolution and transition.

A final correspondence is about looking beyond outside appearances. Remember the fable about kissing the frog. Frog reminds us that things aren’t always as they appear. You have to look deeper to find true value of things. Frog reminds us that inner beauty outshines outer beauty. Take time to look beneath the surface to see things as they truly are. Find the treasure within. 

Key Words: Cleansing, renewal, transformation, abundance

Written by Thia

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page